Based on the Victor Hugo novel and songs from the Disney animated feature, The Hunchback of Notre Dame showcases the film’s Academy Award-nominated score, as well as new songs by Menken and Schwartz. Peter Parnell’s new book embraces story theatre and features verbatim passages from Hugo’s gothic novel.

The musical begins as the bells of Notre Dame sound through the famed cathedral in fifteenth-century Paris. Quasimodo, the deformed bell-ringer who longs to be "Out There," observes all of Paris reveling in the Feast of Fools. Held captive by his devious caretaker, the archdeacon Dom Claude Frollo, he escapes for the day and joins the boisterous crowd, only to be treated cruelly by all but the beautiful gypsy, Esmeralda. Quasimodo isn’t the only one captivated by her free spirit, though – the handsome Captain Phoebus and Frollo are equally enthralled. As the three vie for her attention, Frollo embarks on a mission to destroy the gypsies – and it’s up to Quasimodo to save them all.

A sweeping score and powerful story make The Hunchback of Notre Dame an instant classic. Audiences will be swept away by the magic of this truly unforgettable musical.


Audition Information:

We are seeking actors of ALL ethnicities, backgrounds, and creeds ages 14 to adult to fill the roles of Leads, Company, and Choir Members. The theme of diversity is extremely important to this production.

CHOIR “auditions” are Sunday, April 28 at 3pm.

LEADS and COMPANY auditions are:

Monday, April 29 at 5pm-7pm

Friday, May 3 at 3:30pm-5:30pm

Saturday, May 4 at 1pm-5pm

Potential callbacks will be Sunday, May 5th at 6pm.

Auditions are OPEN CALL; first come, first audition. You do not need to schedule an audition time.

You also only need to come to ONE audition day. Whenever works best for your schedule!

Audition music cuts for LEADS and COMPANY will be made available here starting April 3rd.

Click the links for each “type” of role that will comprise our Full Company. Each link provides information and audition expectations for their corresponding “type”. LEADS, COMPANY, and CHOIR.

Here is the cast of characters. Please understand that the listed ages are the literary ages and may not necessarily be the ages of the actors that we cast.

Any inquires about auditions prior to, please email info@bgonstage.org with the subject: HoND Auditions.


July 26 at 7pm, July 27 at 2pm AND 7pm, July 28 at 3pm

at Van Meter Hall on WKU’s campus.


THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME is presented through special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI). All authorized performance materials are also supplied by MTI. www.MTIShows.com. Show synopsis from MTI website.